After a reservation is created, you can make several changes to its status and details. See common types of updates below.

Changes to a reservation need to be made either through Guesty or through a channel, as described next.

Note:

You cannot manually change a reservation's source ("channel", "manual", etc.). If you need to change it, please contact us.

What changes/updates you can make to a reservation

General limitations 

  • Changes made to reservations will only sync between Guesty and the channel if the relevant listing's integration status is “Connected”. You can check the status of the listing on the relevant channel's distribution page.
  • When you make changes to the number of nights or the number of guests in a reservation, the total accommodation fare will be recalculated, pulling the updated nightly rate from the calendar. Any associated fees and taxes will be recalculated based on the new (total) number of nights and/or (total) number of guests. 
    • This applies to changes made via third-party pricing tools as well.
    • If you do not want to recalculate the price, follow the steps in this article to manually adjust the accommodation price without changing the reservation.
  • When you move a reservation to another listing, the accommodation fare will recalculate based on the listing's current nightly rate. Any associated fees and taxes will be recalculated based on the updated accommodation fare, as well.

Where to make changes/updates to a reservation

Change through the channel

  • Agoda (Pro users only)
  • Airbnb
    • Learn how to make changes via Airbnb here.
  • Booking channels connected to Guesty via Rentals United, except Vrbo (Pro users only)

    • Extending or shortening a reservation: Via Rental United or the channel.
  • Booking channels connected to Siteminder: (Pro users only)

    In the original channel.

  • Booking.com:
    • Reservations before check-in.
    • Moving a reservation to a different listing won’t be synced between Guesty and Booking.com. You will need to first make the update on Booking.com, then manually on Guesty.
  • Expedia (Pro users only)
  • Homes & Villas by Marriott Bonvoy, including BookingPal (Pro users only).
  • Tripadvisor (Pro users only)
    The updated reservation details will be reflected in Guesty once you and your guest confirm the changes.
  • Additional booking channels (Pro users only)
    See the complete list here.

Change through Guesty

Guesty Lite users:

If you connected Vrbo after 19 Feb 2024, this action must be taken in Vrbo. If you connected prior to this date, follow the instructions below.

  • Vrbo
  • Misterb&b (Pro users only)
  • Vrbo via Rentals United (Pro users only)
  • Guesty direct integrations: Booking Website, Booking Engine, & Booking Engine API (Pro users only)
  • Google Vacation Rentals (Pro users only), as reservations are received via the Guesty Booking Engine.
  • Manual reservations (made directly via Guesty)
  • Booking.com:

    • Reservations after check-in:
      • Reservation date change (extending or shortening the stay).
      • Reservation accommodation fare change.
      • Reporting a guest No-Show.
    • Reporting a guest's credit card as invalid for Booking.com, and cancel the reservation.
    • Moving a reservation to a different listing won’t be synced between Guesty and Booking.com. You will need to first make the update on Booking.com, then manually on Guesty.

How to change/update a reservation via Guesty

You can make several updates to a reservation via the Multi Calendar or the Inbox. However, the Reservation page is inclusive of the different types of changes. See how to change a reservation via the reservation page below.

Pro users Lite users

Editing via the Reservation page

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the icon drop-down menu and select Operations mode.
  3. Click Reservations.
  4. Click the relevant reservation.
  5. Click the pencil icon in the top right corner of each section. To navigate to the financial section, click Balance due / Payout at the top right.
  6. Update the relevant fields.
  7. Click Save in each section.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful