You can move a reservation from one listing to another. You will need to make the change either via Guesty or the relevant channel, depending on where the reservation originated from.

For the reservation sources listed below, you will need to change the assigned listing via Guesty. The new listing will be blocked in Guesty and the channel, and the block will automatically be removed from the original listing’s calendar both in Guesty and the channel. 

  • Vrbo
    • The status change will be updated in Vrbo within 24 hours.
    • Guesty Lite users: If you connected to Vrbo after 19 Feb 2024, moving a reservation to another listing won't be updated to Vrbo, you will need to change the assigned listing via Vrbo.
  • Misterb&b (Pro users only)
  • Vrbo via Rentals United (Pro users only)
  • Guesty Booking Engine (Booking Website for Lite users)
  • Guesty Websites & Booking Engine API (Pro users only)
  • Google Vacation Rentals (Pro users only), as reservations are received via the Guesty Booking Engine.
  • Manual reservations (made directly via Guesty)

For all other channels

You need to change the assigned listing via the relevant channel. The update will be synced to Guesty, and the original listing's block will be removed.

For reservations made via Booking.com, you will also need to change the assigned listing manually in Guesty as well (as described below).

Before you begin

Pro users only: If you use our Accounting solution, follow the steps below:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Operations mode.
  3. Click Properties.
  4. Make sure the old listing and new listing appear. (you can use filters to locate your listings).
  5. Add the “Business model” column.
  6. If the two listings have different business models, you need to reprocess the reservation under the new business model.

    Important:

    Double check that the new listing’s business model is the one listed in the pop-up.

Available listings for reassignment 

When assigning a new listing to the reservation, you’ll be able to choose a listing if it is available on the relevant dates, or if the dates are under a "flexible" block, which can be overridden. 

If you’re unable to assign a listing, check our troubleshooting article here.

Note:

  • If Smart Calendar Rules were triggered for the original listing, the block will remain on the relevant dates for the connected listing, even if you move the reservation to another listing. In this case, contact us to remove the block.
  • If there were Auto Tasks assigned to the original listing, these tasks will be canceled and new tasks will be created based on the new listing's Auto Tasks setup.

Relocating reservations from a deactivated listing

When relocating reservations from a deactivated/decommissioned listing, we recommend creating a reservations report of reservations assigned to the deactivated listing to ensure you transfer all of the relevant reservations.

Relocating a reservation mid-stay

In case you'd like to split a reservation (for example, change the assigned room for a reservation in the middle of the stay, etc.), we recommend shortening the dates of the current reservation, ending it on the day of the split, and creating a new reservation for the second listing, starting from the day of the split until the end of the stay.

Changing the reservation’s assigned listing

Follow the steps below to change the assigned listing via Guesty.

Assigning a new listing to the reservation

Pro users Lite users

Step by Step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector, then select Operations mode.
  3. Click Reservations.
  4. Click the relevant reservation.
  5. In the "Summary" section, click the pencil icon.
  6. Remove the current listing by clicking X next to its name under "Listing".
  7. Select the new listing from the drop-down. 
    1. In case of a multi-unit, select the relevant multi-unit listing from the dropdown. You will need to select the multi-unit's main unit, rather than any of its sub-units.
    2. An "Assigned Unit" field will appear next to it. Select the relevant sub-unit from the drop-down.
  8. Click Save.
Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful