A reservation is created when a guest starts any type of communication with you regarding a booking. Each reservation contains a unique reservation code and status which allows both you and the guest to see information in real-time related to a specific booking. Please note that you may change the status of a reservation at any time. Find information about the stages of the reservation lifecycle below.

Note:

In case a reservation's status is set to inactive status, it cannot be revered back to active status. If needed, create a new reservation instead.

Inquiry 

An Inquiry status is used when the guest asks the host a general question but hasn't submitted a "formal" booking request.

An Inquiry contains dates, listing names, and the number of guests, but does not have a reservation number, and it does not affect the calendar.

When creating a manual reservation, you can set its status to “Inquiry” if choosing not to reserve the dates for the guest. This status can be used when sending a quote. 
For some channels (such as Vrbo, and Airbnb), a guest can send you an inquiry as well, which can be manually approved.

Reserved

A reserved status appears in the following cases:

  • Manual reservations can be classified as "Reserved", for either a specific period (from 12 hours to 72 hours) or indefinitely.
  • For channels that have a Request to Book policy, when a guest makes a booking, the reservation is pending the host's confirmation. You will have 24 hours to either confirm or close a Reserved booking request.
  • A quote has been sent to the guest, and classified as Reserved (Pro users only).

A Reserved reservation blocks the calendar.

Important:

  • If choosing to approve a reserved reservation, you'll need to manually change its status to "Confirmed". If choosing to reject it, you'll need to change its status to "Closed". 
  • When sending a quote (Pro users only), the reservation expires after passing the time that was set when creating the quote. Then, the reservation's status will be changed to Closed. Note that the time set cannot be extended once it is set.

Expired

An Expired status is displayed when the time you set to approve a "Reserved" reservation is over. An Expired status cannot be reverted.

Confirmed

A Confirmed reservation status appears when the host has accepted the guest's reservation request (or the request has been automatically accepted due to an Instant booking policy), and the booking process is complete.

A Confirmed reservation blocks the calendar.

Canceled

A Canceled reservation status appears when a host or a guest has canceled a confirmed reservation. This status removes the reservation's block in the calendar. A canceled reservation cannot be reverted.

Closed

You can manually change the status of Inquiry/Reserved to Closed if you choose not to confirm the reservation. 

This status removes the reservation block in the calendar.

Declined

A reservation’s status will change to “Declined” in case the reservation was in “Reserved” status and the guest declined it.

A Declined status doesn't block the calendar.

Awaiting payment

You can use this status in case you already confirmed a reservation, yet the guest's payment hasn't been processed yet. 
This status blocks the calendar

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful