Activating or deactivating a listing

Activating a listing

You can activate or deactivate your listing at any time.
Once "Listing is active" toggle is  switched on, Guesty will manage the listing, and billing for the listing will start.

Note:

After switching on the "Listing is active" toggle for a new listing, check that it is also listed in the booking channels.

Follow the instructions below or watch our video.

Pro users Lite users

Step by step:

Note:

When activating a multi-unit listing via its main settings, you will be prompted to choose whether or not it should apply to all the listing's sub-units. Click Yes or No.

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Operations mode.
  3. Click Properties.
  4. Click the relevant listing.
  5. If the listing is a multi-unit, access the listing's main settings to activate the entire listing or click a sub-unit to activate it individually. Learn how to do this here.
  6. In the listing's menu, click Settings.
  7. On the top right side of the "Listing status" section, click Edit.
  8. Under "Listing status", switch the Listing is active toggle on.
  9. Once a listing has been activated, check that it is "Listed" in Guesty, to ensure that it appears on the connected booking channels.

Deactivating a listing

You can deactivate and reactivate listings at any time. Deactivating listings doesn't delete your listing.

Before you deactivate

Billing and Accounting

  • Confirmed reservations made before deactivating the listing will be billed, regardless of the check-in date.
  • If you don't want to be billed for a listing for a specific month, it's important to deactivate the listing before the end of the previous month.
  • Users with the accounting feature - should not delete their listings.

Automation

  • Deactivating a listing will deactivate all automation and calendar features as well (such as existing Smart Calendar Rules). Please note that reactivating the listing won't automatically activate the Smart Calendar Rules again. 

Booking channels integrations:

  • A deactivated listing will still appear in connected booking channels.
    Unlist the property before deactivating it to make sure it is unlisted in the channels as well.

Reporting and analytics:

  • Reservations will not appear in custom reports for deactivated listings, and the deactivated listing will no longer appear in the Multi-Calendar.
  • Deactivating a listing removes its data from Analytics. To continue seeing data for this listing, hide the listing from the booking channels and keep the listing active.

 

Follow the instructions below to deactivate a listing.

Pro users Lite users

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the icon drop-down menu and select Operations mode.
  3. Click Properties.
  4. Click the relevant listing.
  5. If the listing is a multi-unit or complex, access the listing's main settings to deactivate the entire listing or click a sub-unit to deactivate it individually.
  6. On the top right side of the "Listing status" section, click Edit.
    1. First, under "Listing status", switch the Listing is active toggle off (via the parent-unit's Settings tab).
    2. You will be prompted to choose whether or not it should apply to all the listing's sub-units. Click Yes or No.
      • Click Yes to deactivate both the parent-unit and sub-units, and continue to step 9 below.
      • If you click No, it won't deactivate the sub-units connected, and the sub-unit listings will still be activated. You'll then need to deactivate them individually (continue to Step 6 below).
  7. In the listing's menu, click Settings.
  8. On the top right side of the "Listing status" section, click Edit.
  9. Under "Listing status", switch the Listing is active toggle off.
  10. In the pop-up, tick the checkbox I have read and understood the result of deactivating this listing, and click Yes, deactivate listing.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful