Canceling a reservation

Canceling a confirmed reservation may become necessary in some situations, such as for unexpected maintenance issues, due to overbooking, or for other unforeseen circumstances. You can mark that the reservation was canceled by the initiative of the host, or the guest (for example, if a guest contacts you and asks to cancel the reservation on their behalf).

Canceling a reservation is done either via Guesty or via the booking channel. Read on to understand on which platform a reservation must be canceled.

Before you begin

Once a reservation is canceled, it cannot be restored. If needed, you can create it again manually. Upon cancellation, the dates will become available on all booking channels. Any scheduled Automated Messages will also be canceled.

Understanding additional fees and cancellation fees

However, any additional fees you manually added to the reservation will remain as non-canceled invoice items. A guest’s cancellation fee can be added to the invoice, according to the cancellation policy or the rate plan applied. A refund won’t automatically be issued to the guest, and must be made manually.

You can also choose to waive a guest’s cancellation fee.

Beware that you may be charged a cancellation fee by the channel and/or by Guesty. Request to Book ("Reserved") reservations will be automatically canceled if not approved within 24 hours ( their status will be changed to “Closed”). Requests to book/ inquiries won’t result in any charges to the guest or host if they’re not approved.

Tip:

  • If you have an active rate plan(s) applied to the listing, and you marked that the reservation is canceled by the guest, the cancellation fee will be calculated and displayed automatically in the invoice as an added line item. You can view it in the "Guest Invoice" section of the "Balance Due / Payout" page.
  • Learn how canceled reservations affect owner statements (Pro users)

Important:

For the cancellation to be synced between Guesty and the channel, the relevant listing must be in a “connected” status in the channel’s integration dashboard. Otherwise, you will need to cancel the reservation both in Guesty and the channel.

Which reservations can I cancel?

Only a reservation with a Confirmed status can be canceled, either by the guest or the host.
If a guest has used an invalid payment method, the reservation will not be automatically canceled. You can set a notification for failed payments, and then you can handle the issue (try to charge the guest again, collect a new payment method, etc.) or manually cancel the reservation.

Through which platform should I cancel a reservation?

Check the reservation's source, and proceed according to the reservation's channel of origin. If mentioned to cancel a reservation via the channel (and not through Guesty), the status update will be synced to Guesty as well (unless stated otherwise). If mentioned to cancel the reservation via Guesty, see the instructions in the last section.

Airbnb

Active reservations, with check-ins in the upcoming 24 hours

For this case, you need to contact Airbnb and ask them to cancel the reservation. Learn more about Airbnb’s cancellation penalties in the Airbnb Host Cancellation Policy.

Future reservations, with check-ins in more than 24 hours

When canceling an Airbnb reservation via Guesty, the request is subject to Airbnb’s approval. Because this may take a few days, you can contact us to remove the block in your calendar sooner. However, this can create discrepancies between your Guesty and Airbnb availability.

Booking.com

Cancellation requests can be submitted to Booking.com up to 48 hours before check-in via the extranet or the Pulse app.

As a best practice, we advise asking the guest to cancel the reservation. A guest can easily cancel a Booking.com reservation using a link from their confirmation email or via their Booking.com account.

To cancel a reservation as a host, initiate a cancellation request through the Booking.com extranet, except for cases of a guest’s no-show or an invalid payment method (listed below), which you need to perform via Guesty. If a guest asks you to cancel their reservation less than 48 hours before check-in, inform them to contact the Booking.com customer service. Once the guest receives and accepts the cancellation request, the reservation will be canceled.

Note:

For the cancellation to be synced to Guesty and be reflected in the calendar, Guesty must be set as the listing's connectivity provider on the Booking.com Extranet. Also, the listing’s status must be supported by Guesty.

When to cancel a Booking.com reservation via Guesty

Expedia 

Expedia reservations must be canceled via Expedia. The cancellation will not sync to Guesty, however, so contact us to update the reservation’s status.

Guesty's direct integrations & manual reservations

Cancel a reservation from a direct integration or a manual reservation via Guesty.

Direct integrations include:

  • Guesty Booking Engine API (Pro users)
  • Guesty Booking Engine (Booking Website for Lite users), including Guesty Websites (Pro users) and Google Vacation Rentals (Pro users).

Contact us to cancel a direct/manual reservation made for a multi-unit listing.

Owner reservations/personal stays (Pro users)

Cancel an owner reservation via Guesty.

Rentals United 

A Rentals United reservation can only be canceled through Rentals United or the connected booking channel through which the reservation was made (with the exception of Vrbo). You can, however, cancel a Vrbo via Rentals United reservation in Guesty.

Siteminder 

You should cancel the reservation on the booking channel from which the reservation originated. This will be updated in SiteMinder and Guesty.

Vrbo (including reservations made via Rentals United)

Note:

Guesty Lite users: If you connected to Vrbo after 19 Feb 2024, cancel a reservation directly via Vrbo. If you connected prior to this date, follow the information below.

Guests can cancel a reservation themselves in Vrbo, with no additional action required on your part. The cancellation will be synced automatically with Guesty.

If you need to initiate a manual cancellation - such as an owner/host reservation, payment-related issues, or unexpected circumstances - follow the steps below to cancel in Guesty.

Reservations from all other channels

For all channels not listed above, cancel the reservation in the relevant channel.

Canceling a reservation via Guesty

Follow the instructions below to cancel a reservation via the reservation page in Guesty.

Booking.com users:

To cancel a reservation due to invalid credit card details, refer to the last section.

Pro users Lite users

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Operations mode.
  3. Click Reservations.
  4. Click the relevant reservation.
  5. Click the Pencil iconnext to "Summary". Then, under "Status," select Canceled from the dropdown menu.
    • For Airbnb reservations: Click the three vertical dots, then click Request cancellation.
  6. In the pop-up window, fill in the relevant fields, then click Update to cancelled.
    • For Airbnb reservations: fill in the relevant information, then click Confirm to send a cancellation request to Airbnb.
  7. Click Save.

The reservation status will change to "Canceled".

Tip:

You can also cancel a reservation via the calendar or the Inbox. Find the relevant reservation, then click Reservations mobile tap on the side widget.

Canceling a Booking.com reservation due to invalid credit card details

If a reservation has been received from Booking.com with an invalid credit card, the guest has one opportunity to update their credit card details before the reservation can be canceled. A notification will be displayed in Guesty if the details are not updated within the given time frame.

First, you need to report a credit card as invalid. You'll receive a notification if the guest doesn't update their credit card details within the relevant time frame (mentioned in the linked article). To cancel a Booking.com reservation due to invalid credit card details, follow the instructions below. 

Pro users Lite users

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2.  In the top right corner, click the bell icon.
  3. In the notifications, click Card was not updated - reservation can be canceled. Alternatively, locate the relevant reservation by clicking Operations mode > Reservations.
  4. Click Balance Due / Status at the top right of the page.
  5. To the right of "Payments", click Cancel reservation.
Was this article helpful?
2 out of 3 found this helpful