A cancellation policy is a set of conditions which defines the penalty fee a guest will have to pay for canceling their reservation. It includes two parameters: the time frame before check-in in which the cancellation is made, and the fee that will be charged for the cancellation/no-show.

In some cases, the cancellation policy can be set as part of a rate plan (Pro users only), or as a standalone, (i.e., not as part of a rate plan), depending in the integrated booking channel. 

A cancellation policy is set at the listing level. You are not required to configure a cancellation policy when creating a new listing in Guesty. However, having a cancellation policy or a rate plan is needed to make the listing bookable/sellable in the booking channel. 

If the integration with the channel allows it, consider the following when deciding between a rate plan vs. a standalone cancellation policy:

  • While you can apply multiple rate plans for each listing, the listing can have only one standalone cancellation policy. 
  • Rate plans can be updated in bulk, while cancellation policies have to be updated for each listing individually.

Read below what type of cancellation policy you need to set, and where you should set it, according to the relevant booking channel.

Channels' requirements for setting a cancellation policy

Agoda

Set your listing's cancellation policy via Agoda. It will then sync to Guesty. Note that setting a cancellation policy in Guesty won't sync to Agoda.

Airbnb

Cancellation policies must be from the standalone type for Airbnb, as rate plans are not supported.

These are the Airbnb cancellation policies that can be selected and synced with Guesty:

  • Flexible - 1 day before check-in
  • Moderate - 5 days before check-in
  • Firm - 7 days before check-in
  • Strict - 14 days before check-in
  • Super strict 30 - 30 days before check-in
  • Super strict 60 - 60 days before check-in

You can add a non-refundable discount in addition to the listing’s cancellation policy.

Publishing a listing to Airbnb (Pro users only)

You need to set a listing’s cancellation policy upon publishing the listing to Airbnb. 

Importing an Airbnb listing to Guesty

You’re required to set a cancellation policy when creating a listing in Airbnb. The cancellation policy will be pushed to Guesty when importing the listing.

Linking between a listing in Guesty and Airbnb

When linking an existing Guesty listing to an Airbnb listing, Guesty pulls the cancellation policy you set in Airbnb. 

Booking.com

Publishing a listing to Booking.com (Pro users only)

You must have a cancellation policy or a rate plan set for your listing to be able to publish it to Booking.com. You can configure a rate plan/ cancellation policy as part of the publishing process.

Linking a listing between Guesty and Booking.com

Pro users:

You must have a cancellation policy or a rate plan set for your listing to link it to Booking.com. The cancellation policy/rate plan in Guesty will override the rate plan you set for the listing in Booking.com. You can configure a rate plan/ cancellation policy for your listing as part of the linking process.

Lite users:

It is necessary to set one rate plan per listing in Booking.com. Otherwise, a default rate plan will automatically apply to the listing. The rate plan will be pulled to Guesty when linking the listing to Guesty. 

Note:

If you connected to Booking.com after 5 MAR 2024, note that Guesty replaces some unsupported Booking.com cancellation policies when linking your listings.

Direct booking integrations 

Direct channels/integrations refer to the following reservation sources:

  • Manual reservations
  • Guesty Booking Engine (Guesty Booking Website for Lite users),
  • Google Vacation Rentals (Pro users only), as the integration is built on the Booking Engine
  • Guesty Booking Engine API (Pro users only)
  • Guesty Websites (Pro users only) 

You can set a rate plan (Pro users only) or a cancellation policy per listing for direct integrations. Setting a cancellation policy/rate plan is not part of configuring a direct booking integration and must be done in addition. If you don’t set a cancellation policy/rate plan for a listing, the default “Non-refundable” policy will automatically be applied, affecting all direct booking reservations. To set a cancellation policy, follow these instructions.

Expedia (Pro users only)

You're required to configure a cancellation policy or a rate plan for the listing when linking a listing between Guesty and Expedia

Glamping Hub (Pro users only)

You need to set your listing's cancellation policy via Glamping Hub

HVMB (Pro users only)

You're required to select a listing’s cancellation policy when connecting your HVMB account and listings to Guesty. The cancellation policy you set in Guesty will override the one configured in HVMB.

Misterb&b (Pro users only)

You're required to set a listing’s cancellation policy when connecting a Misterb&b account to Guesty.

Rentals United (Pro users only)

Set your listing's cancellation policy via Rentals United.

Tripadvisor (Pro users only)

You're required to set a listing’s cancellation policy when publishing or linking a listing between Tripadvisor and Guesty.

Trip.com (Pro users only)

Set a listing’s rate plan both in Guesty and Trip.com to be able to link the listing between the two platforms. You can set a listing’s rate plan during the linking process.

Vrbo

When connecting a Vrbo account to Guesty, set a default cancellation policy for the account. When publishing a new listing to Vrbo, choose whether to apply the account’s default cancellation policy or use a different policy for the listing.

Lite users:

If you connected to Vrbo after 19 FEB 2024, you must set your listing’s cancellation policy directly in Vrbo.

Additional booking channels (Pro users only)

Set a listing’s cancellation policy when connecting your channel’s account and listings to Guesty. The cancellation policy you configured in Guesty will override the one in the channel.

Setting a cancellation policy via Guesty

You need to set a cancellation policy in Guesty for manual reservations, and direct integrations ("Online booking solutions"). For all channel integrations, configuring a listing's cancellation policy is done when connecting the listing to the channel, as mentioned per channel above. The channel will only be added to the cancellation policy section in Guesty following the initial connection.

Follow the instructions below to create or change a cancellation policy. To create or change a cancellation policy as part of a rate plan, refer here.

Pro users Lite users

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Operations mode.
  3. Click Properties.
  4. Click the relevant listing.
  5. In the listing's menu, click Pricing & Policies.
  6. Select Reservation policies from the drop-down.
  7. In the "Cancellation policy" section to the right, click Edit.
  8. Select the desired cancellation policy for the relevant source, and the cancellation fee.

    Online booking solutions refer to the Booking Engine (Booking Website for Lite users), the Booking Engine API (Pro users), and Guesty Websites (Pro users).

  9. Click Save.

Changing/updating a cancellation policy

You can change a listing's cancellation policy after it is created via Guesty. The change will be synced to the connected booking channel, except for the following booking channels/PMS - in which you need to make any cancellation policies' adjustments directly on the channel:

  • Agoda
  • Glamping Hub
  • Rentals United

Changes to your cancellation policy will only apply to new bookings. Reservations made before your changes will be subject to your previous cancellation policy. If the cancellation policy was created as part of a rate plan, change it in the rate plan’s settings. If the cancellation policy was created as a standalone, change it via the listing’s Property page, as described below.

Note:

  • If you already set a rate plan for the listing, you won't be able to manually replace it with a standalone cancellation policy. To do so, please contact us.
  • Vrbo & Tripadvisor users: You cannot publish a multi-unit listing from Guesty to Vrbo or Tripadvisor. Instead, you must publish each sub-unit separately as an individual listing. Therefore, you should update the cancellation policy of each sub-unit separately.
  • Airbnb & Booking.com usersFor a multi-unit, update the cancellation policy either on the listing's main unit level or an individual sub-unit level, depending on how the listing is connected with the channel. Learn how to access the main settings vs. a sub-unit's settings.

Step by step:

Repeat the steps above to change the cancellation policy selection for the relevant source. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful