Changing the status of a reservation or inquiry

You can manually change the status of a reservation via Guesty to confirm or decline reservations.

Learn here about the different statuses mentioned below and their effect on the calendar.

Note:

If a reservation status does not sync between a booking channel and Guesty, please contact us.

Changes you can make to a reservation’s status

Closing a reservation

Once a reservation is inactive (i.e., having a Closed/Canceled/Declined status), the block will be removed from the calendar. You can manually change a reservation’s active status (such as “Confirmed”/”Reserved”/”Inquiry”) to a “Closed” status, and in some cases to a “Canceled” status. 

Important:

  • You cannot revert an inactive status to an active status. If needed, create a new reservation instead.
  • To cancel a reservation, refer here.

Approving a reservation

Once a reservation is confirmed, the dates will be blocked in all channels.

A reservation can be confirmed regardless of other settings applied in Guesty, such as Advance Notice, booking window settings, a listing's maximum occupancy, or the minimum/maximum nights. 

Confirming a “Reserved” reservation

A “Reserved” status blocks the calendar for the selected dates, for a specified period of time.

Reservations from channels with a “Request to Book” policy will be received in Guesty with a “Reserved” status. You’ll need to manually change the status to either “Confirmed” or “Closed’.

Also, when creating a manual reservation, you can set its status to “Reserved”, and select the course of time in which the calendar will be blocked for the guest (between 12 to 72 hours, or indefinitely). If that time expires and the status hasn’t been changed to “Confirmed”, the block will automatically be removed from the calendar.

A “Reserved” status can be used when sending a quote and also blocking the calendar for the potential guest.

Confirming an Inquiry

When creating a manual reservation, you can set its status to “Inquiry” in order not to reserve the dates for the guest. This status can be used when sending a quote without blocking the calendar. You’ll need to manually change the status to either “Confirmed” or “Closed’.

Important:

  • For Vrbo, avoid confirming an inquiry via Guesty or Vrbo. Instead, you should instruct the guest to change the reservation status by themselves. Learn more here.
  • For Airbnb, you can set an auto approval for inquiries, as described here.

Where to change a reservation’s status

For the reservation sources listed below, change the status of the reservation via Guesty:

Guesty Lite users:

If you connected Vrbo after 19 Feb 2024, this action must be taken in Vrbo. If you connected prior to this date, follow the instructions below.

  • Vrbo
    • A reservation's status should not be changed in Guesty directly from "Inquiry" to "Confirmed". Extra details, such as contact information and payment method, are required when making a Vrbo reservation.
  • Misterb&b (Pro users only)
  • Vrbo via Rentals United (Pro users only)
  • Guesty direct integrations: Booking Website, Booking Engine, & Booking Engine API (Pro users only)
  • Google Vacation Rentals (Pro users only), as reservations are received via the Guesty Booking Engine.
  • Manual reservations (made directly via Guesty)

For all other channels, change the status of a reservation directly via the channel.

In some cases, you can also change the reservation’s status via the Multi Calendar or the Inbox via the widget sidebar ( ). See below how to change the reservation’s status via the reservation page.

Changing the reservation's status via the reservation page

Pro users Lite users

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Operations mode.
  3. Click Reservations.
  4. Click the relevant reservation.
  5. Next to Summary, click the pencil icon.
  6. Under "Status", select a new reservation status from the drop-down.
  7. Click Save.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful