Review the guidelines below to understand how you are billed and how payments are collected for Guest App Upsells.
Review billing
Charges for Upsells are included in your monthly invoice and are based on all reservations for which check-out has occurred during that month.
You can't opt out of the feature once activated. However, you can remove individual Upsells at any time. Keep the following in mind when removing Upsells:
- You are charged for any Upsells that have already been sold, even if the offer is later removed.
- If an Upsell is removed from the guest folio, you won't be charged for it.
Collect payment
Guests must add their credit card details in the Guest App to request an Upsell. The card is saved to the payment processor assigned to the listing.
When you approve the Upsell request, Guesty automatically charges the guest's card and adds the Upsell to the reservation as an additional fee.
This works the same for every booking channel, including channel-collected reservations such as Airbnb.
Handle cancellations and refunds
If an Upsell or reservation is canceled, the guest is not refunded automatically. You must refund the guest manually.
Note:
Upsells are mapped to additional fees and may have different names in the guest and accounting folios. For example, the "cot" Upsell is "baby crib" in the folios.