Managing notifications in Guesty

We offer many notifications to help you stay on top of your business and let you know when a reservation is canceled or a payment is overdue, for example. These notifications will appear in your dashboard and mobile app, and will not be sent as an email or SMS. If you do want to be notified via email or SMS, you can follow these instructions to create a message automation for canceled reservations, for example.

Follow the instructions below to set up notifications in a way that best suits your needs. You can see the different notification categories and read about the individual notifications below the instructions - just click the category to see the full list.

Important:

We do not support Chrome notifications.

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the bell icon.
  3. In the bottom-left corner of the pop-up, click the settings icon.
  4. In the left-side menu, click Notifications.
  5. In the categories that are relevant to you, select notifications for events you'd like to receive alerts about, and unselect notifications for events that do not concern you.
  6. Click Save.

 

Available notifications

Below are the different types of notifications that you can choose to receive in Guesty.

Payments

Details

Payment received

Appears when a new payment has been successfully processed by the payment provider and funds have been received in your processing account.

This notification is off by default.

Payment failed

Appears when a payment fails. Use this notification to make sure payments are not missed. You can try to charge the guest's payment method again or collect a new payment method from the guest. This notification will continue to appear until the reservation is fully paid.

This notification is off by default.

Payment refunded

Appears when a payment is refunded. We recommend turning this notification on if you want to be notified of a refund (not for recorded payments) but are not the ones actually refunding the payment.

This notification is off by default.

Payment overdue

Appears on the day a payment was scheduled to be charged but was not successfully processed, and the money is now overdue to be collected.

This notification is off by default.

Reservation overcharged

Appears when the total amount collected for a reservation is larger than the reservation amount. You can use this to keep track of errors or cancellations and refund the guest in time to avoid chargebacks. 

This notification is on by default.

Authorization hold failed

Appears when a scheduled authorization hold fails, whether it was created manually or with an auto payment.

This notification is off by default.

New payment method received (via invoice or quote)

Appears when a payment method is received from a guest through an invoice or quote.

This notification is off by default.

Invalid payment method received

Appears when an invalid payment method is collected from the guest. Be sure to collect a new payment method from the guest or cancel the reservation if you suspect fraud.

This notification is off by default.

Invalid card received (Booking.com)

Appears when a reservation is received from Booking.com with an invalid payment method. You can learn more about this here.

This notification is off by default.

Second invalid card (Booking.com)

Appears if a reservation that already received an invalid payment method receives another invalid payment method from Booking.com. You can learn more about this here.

This notification is off by default.

3-D secure authentication required from guest

Appears when a payment needs to be authenticated by the guest. Learn how to do this here.

This notification is off by default.

Payment authentication failed

Appears when a guest attempts to authenticate a payment with 3-D Secure and fails to do so.

This notification is off by default.

Disputes

Appears when you receive a chargeback or a chargeback reversal, and is relevant if you're processing payments through Guesty.

This notification is off by default.

Reservations

Details

New inquiry received

Appears when a new reservation in "inquiry" status is created by a 3rd-party such as API or the Guesty booking engine.

This notification is off by default.

Canceled reservation

Appears when a reservation is canceled by you or a 3rd-party such as a booking channel or API.

This notification is off by default.

Reservation alteration

Appears when a reservation is updated by you or a 3rd-party such as a booking channel or API.

This notification is off by default.

Confirmed reservation

Appears when a reservation changes to "confirmed" status by you or a 3rd-party such as a booking channel or API.

This notification is off by default.

Declined reservation

Appears when a reservation is declined by you or a 3rd-party such as a booking channel or API.

This notification is off by default.

Double booking

Appears when a reservation is received for dates that are already booked.

This notification is on by default.

Awaiting payment

Appears when the reservation status changes to "Awaiting payment" (when a guest submits a quote, and the status changes from "Reserved" to "Awaiting payment", for example).

This notification is off by default.

Booking request quote submitted

Appears when a reservation is created with "send a quote".

This notification is off by default.

Booking request quote expired

Appears when a reservation that was created with "send a quote" expires (usually after 24 hours without a response).

This notification is off by default.

Booking request created

Appears when a reservation is created in "Reserved" or "Inquiry" status and initiated by the guest (mostly through the Booking Engine).

This notification is off by default.

Cancellation request declined

Appears when Airbnb declines a cancellation request.

This notification is off by default.

Calendar is blocked on airbnb

Appears when Airbnb blocks the listing calendar after canceling the reservation.

This notification is off by default.

Tasks

Details

New attachment received

Appears when an attachment is added to an already existing task.

This notification is off by default.

New comment submitted

Appears when a comment is added to an already existing task.

This notification is off by default.

Was this article helpful?
6 out of 8 found this helpful