This article is relevant if you already upgraded to our new roles & permissions. If you see a banner under Setup > User management saying "Switch to upgraded roles designed to increase productivity and security", this means your account still has users with the old roles. Click Show me to see them. Click the user you want to upgrade, then click Roles & permissions to the left and Switch roles to replace their current role(s).

Important:

Only account admins (under the old roles & permissions) or account admins/managers who are allowed to "manage users" (under the new roles & permissions) can access the "user management" section.

If you have employees or people helping you with your business, you can create a user for them in Guesty to give them access to your account. If needed, you can update their personal details or remove them from your account.

Follow the instructions below based on your current needs.

Create a user

Fill in some details about the new user, and we will send an email asking them to complete their first login to Guesty. 

Pro users Lite users

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Setup mode.
  3. Click User management.
  4. In the top-right corner, click New user.
  5. Fill in the information and click Send invitation:
    • General information
    • Roles: Click Select roles and choose one or more roles that match what the user does in their daily work. For each role you add/remove, review the permissions summary on the right to see what the user will and will not be able to do in the dashboard. Click Select when done.
      • For "Admin" and "General manager", choose if the user can manage users and purchase add-ons. 
    • Properties: Click Edit and choose which listings the user has access to. Click Done when finished. If the user has a role that requires accessing listings, they will only be able to access the listings you chose.

Remind the user to look for our email and click to Activate Guesty account to complete their first login to Guesty. The link will expire 7 days after it is sent.

Edit a user

Personal details

Pro users Lite user

Step by step: 

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Setup mode.
  3. Click User management.
  4. Select the user you want to edit.
  5. In the left menu, click Details and make the necessary changes.

Tip:

If you add multiple email addresses, you can mark one as the primary address by hovering over it and clicking the star that appears. Users must sign in to Guesty with the primary address.

Notifications

Pro users Lite users

Step by step: 

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Setup mode.
  3. Click User management.
  4. Select the user you want to edit.
  5. In the left menu, click Notifications and choose which events the user will get a notification for. You can read about the different notifications here

Roles

Pro users Lite users

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Setup mode.
  3. Click User management.
  4. Select the user you want to edit.
  5. In the left menu, click Roles & permissions, and then click Edit to the right.
  6. Select or unselect roles to try and match the user's daily work. After you add/remove roles, review the permissions summary on the right to see what the user will and will not be able to do in the dashboard (for all of the roles you selected).
    • For "Admin" and "General manager", choose if the user can manage other users and purchase add-ons. 
  7. Click Select when done.

Listings

Pro users Lite users

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Setup mode.
  3. Click User management.
  4. Select the user you want to edit.
  5. In the left menu, click Roles & permissions.
  6. Click the name/number under "Assigned properties" and assign or unassign listings based on the user's needs. Click Done when finished.

If the user has a role that requires accessing listings, they will only be able to access the listings you chose.

Groups

Pro users Lite users

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Setup mode.
  3. Click User management.
  4. Select the user you want to edit.
  5. In the left menu, click Details.
  6. Under "Groups," remove the user from groups by clicking X, or add them to groups by typing the name of the group:
    • If the group exists, it will appear in the drop-down. Click it.
    • If the group does not exist, type in the name and click it to create the group.

  7. In the top-right corner, click Save.

Delete a user

Pro users Lite users

Step by step:

  1. Sign in to your Guesty account.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click the mode selector and select Setup mode.
  3. Click User management.
  4. Select the user you want to remove from your account.
  5. In the top-right corner, click the three dots and click Delete.
  6. Click Delete.
  7. In the pop-up, click Delete.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful